NYWLE Members Participate in Shop with a Cop

On December 9, 2017, members of law enforcement, including several NYWLE members, participated in the annual Shop with a Cop event at the Wal-Mart in Watertown, NY.  Sheriff Colleen O'Neill was on hand greeting the lucky children who were assigned different law enforcement personnel to shop with. NYSP K-9 handler Heidi Lyndaker and her partner Ram also took to the aisles to make a child's wishes come true. 

Check out BrianaJessica Photography on Facebook for more pictures from the event!

NYWLE President Lynette DelFavero Promoted

The Syracuse Police Department announced its plans to promote Captain Lynette DelFavero, NYWLE President, to Deputy Chief at the start of the New Year.  NYWLE Past President Rebecca Thompson is set to retire from Syracuse PD on December 31, 2017, making way for the new wave of promotions set to take place.  

As Deputy Chief, DelFavero will oversee the department's uniform bureau. She is a 20-year veteran of the Syracuse Police Department who works in human resources. She started as a night shift patrol officer and spent most of her career in the uniform bureau. She formerly led the crime reduction team and the first platoon patrol. She was elected President of NYWLE at this year's past conference.

Syracuse Police Serve Seniors

Every year Syracuse Police Officers serve lunch to the Seniors at the Salvation Army! This year, NYWLE members, including Syracuse Police Deputy Chief Rebecca Thompson and Officer Dennis Burlingame were on hand to serve delivious Thanksgiving meals to members of the community.